2022 J. H. “Buddy” Raspberry Scholarship Reception & Awards Luncheon

On Saturday, August 13th, the 2022 J. H. “Buddy” Raspberry Scholarship Reception & Awards Luncheon was held at the Marriott Marquis – Houston. This reception marked the 13th year of the event with a total of $227,000 in academic and vocational scholarship funds awarded to 30 recipients.

The luncheon began with an invocation by Al Weeks, USMX Director of Safety/Training, CFS & Labor Relations, SAGCD and welcomed by Master of Ceremonies Charles Montgomery.  Mr. Montgomery stated that “Families have returned generation after generation to work along our waterfront.  Our waterfront community is a world of its own that takes great pride in ‘taking care of its own’.  That now includes helping our youth finance their higher education.”

Buddy Raspberry was the ILA – South Atlantic and Gulf Coast District President for 12 short years from 1978 – 1990 and left a lasting impression on all that knew him.  Buddy was witty, warm, friendly, and well educated.  “Buddy was a student for all his life in the sense he never stopped learning. He was aware of the value of formal education, and it is only fitting that his memory is honored through this scholarship fund,” Mr. Montgomery stated.

The 2022 J. H. “Buddy” Raspberry Scholarship winners are as follows:

  • Abigayle Pruns
  • April Munoz
  • Arielle Gonzalez
  • Ashley Williams (Judith Brown Memorial Scholarship)
  • Bianca Harris
  • Brayden Haranda
  • Breddrin Williams
  • Cara Heinrich (Tim Arthur Memorial Scholarship)
  • Cecilia Rodriguez
  • Clare Martingano
  • Cody Oliphant
  • David Trevino
  • Eva Lampasas
  • Isabella Martingano
  • Jada Nolasco
  • Jade Dickens
  • Jeremiah Baldwin
  • Jordyn Groover
  • Kaitlyn O’Daniel
  • Kristen Harris
  • Larry Godfrey
  • Lesly Gonzalez
  • Levi Robinson
  • Linsey Sackett
  • Marley Maderazo
  • Nathanael Thomson
  • Stephanie Hernandez
  • Sydney Taylor
  • Tara Donnelly (Scardasis Maritime Award)
  • Tommy Harris


The ILA proudly supports the educational endeavors of our future generations. Congratulations to our scholars and their families!

A special thank you to the J.H. “Buddy” Raspberry Board: Co-Administrators Shareen Larmond and Eric Nelson; and Trustees Adam Brooks, Chelsea Egmon, Benny Holland, Dave Morgan, Alan Robb, Eloy Cortez and Jeff Davis.

Related Posts

Leave A Reply